Quick Links

Quick Links

Bishop Lonsdale

Church of England Primary Academy

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


Local Academy Committee

Welcome to our Local Academy Committee


Mrs C Furnell - King - Chair of Local Academy Committee/Health and Safety link 

Mrs L Wright- Vice Chair of Local Academy Committee /Safeguarding link

Mr J Mannion - St. Chad's Academies Trust Representative 

Miss H Davies - Staff Local Academy Committee member 

Mrs C Jones - Principal







Schools are run by a governing body or local academy committee working with the Principal and senior leadership team to ensure that pupils get a good education.


Who can become a school LAC member?

All types of people can become LAC members. No special qualifications are required, but you must be 18 or over on the date when you are elected or appointed.


Enthusiasm, commitment and an interest in education are the most important qualities. You don't need to have a child at the school.


What do LAC members do?

LAC members make important collective decisions, and the governing body is answerable to parents and the community.


The responsibilities of the LAC can be summarised as providing strategic management, acting as a critical friend and ensuring accountability.


Specific responsibilities include:


  • Promoting high standards of education and achievement
  • Planning the school’s long-term future
  • Setting the school’s aims and values
  • Appointing senior staff, including the Principal
  • Budgetary allocation and control


The day-to-day management of the academy is the responsibility of the Principal.





2022 - 2023 LAC member information

2021 - 2022 LAC Member information

2018 - 2019 Local Academy Committee member details